Happy New Year!

Happy New Year!  2012 is finally here and I know it’s going to be an amazing year!

That’s the Inspiration Board I created for 2012, to help me set my intentions for what I want to accomplish this year.

Today was one of the best New Year’s Days that I’ve had in a long time.  A few weeks ago, my friend Katy and I signed up for a yoga workshop that helped us set our intentions for the new year.  We spent some time focusing on letting go of what no longer served us before beginning a powerful vinyasa yoga practice.

No picture of me doing crazy yoga poses, but there’s my yoga mat!

Katy come over for a little bit after the workshop to check out my Inspiration Board and to learn more about a Healthy Eating Challenge that I’m starting in a few days at Whole Foods. I can’t wait!  Sounds like great things are lined up for it.

After that, I met up with my friend Diana at the Metro so we could ride into DC together. She texted me in the morning to see if I wanted to meet up and go see Young Adult in Chinatown.

The movie was pretty funny and after that, we were starving.  I remembered that there was a Nando’s, one of the places I used to love to go eat at when I lived in London.  Nando’s is famous for their Peri Peri Chicken, but I knew they had veggie burgers there too.

I chose to get the veggie burger with no yogurt sauce or chili jam, with the Lemon & Herb sauce.  Since I eat gluten-free too, I requested no bread and added a portobello mushroom to go with the burger.  My sides were butternut squash and corn with red onion, dried cranberries, fresh cilantro, and chili, along with spicy yellow rice with peppers and herbs.

I have to admit I was a bit disappointed with the veggie burger.  It tasted like a Boca burger with the lemon & herb sauce on top of it.  It wasn’t horrible, but not the best veggie burger I’ve ever had either. The sides were super delicious though!  I was starving too, since all I’d had all day was a smoothie, a banana, and some walnuts, so I pretty much cleaned my plate.  😀

Since it was such a nice night, we decided to walk around and explore a little bit of DC.  The weather was unreal for the first day of January.  It felt more like a cool spring!

The last remnants of Christmas on the streets!  For some reason, it reminded us of Elf and we started quoting all the funny things that Buddy says during the movie.

We meandered our way around, trying to find a place that sold tea or hot chocolate, but everything was closed.  Eventually we realized we were getting closer to the monuments and ended up by the White House and its display of Christmas trees.

It was really nice walking around looking at the trees and listening to Christmas music for the final time this holiday season.

Bonfire!  It was nice to feel its warmth.

We were so excited to finally find the Virginia Christmas tree!  Each time we thought we were close, we’d end up on another state’s tree with a letter of the alphabet that started nowhere near Virginia’s.

It was great having such an unplanned night and taking advantage of the nice weather.

Trader Joe’s organic spiced rooibos ruby red chai with cinnamon, cardamom, peppercorns, cloves, goji berries, and a touch of soy milk was the perfect way to end the day!

How was your New Year’s Day?

Comments

  1. Love, Love, Love! Can’t wait to follow your journey here!

Leave a Reply

