Fun-Filled Saturday

Today’s weather in the DC area was gorgeous with highs in the 60s.  I don’t think I ever recall that happening, especially when it was freezing cold earlier this week, but I loved it.

The day started early by going to a Vinyasa Yoga class, where I met up with my friend Katy.  Breakfast before yoga was a green smoothie, made with some Sun Warrior vanilla protein powder.  There are lots of myths surrounding protein requirements which I’ll blog about at a later time, but I was curious about this protein powder, especially since it’s raw vegan.

The protein powder flavor was a little bit strong in my smoothie, but I’m going to keep experimenting with it in different recipes to see what happens.

Yoga was invigorating and a great way to start the day. I really felt its effects throughout the morning and in the late afternoon, I even had the urge to do some more yoga!  I used to do yoga all the time when I lived in London and I’m so happy that I finally found a great yoga studio close to my house where I can practice.

After yoga, I had to rush back home and get ready to meet my friend Diana.  We’ve been talking for months about how we each wanted to get a George Mason University hoodie.  George Mason University is where we met and became friends (in a Jane Austen class!) and we both had great experiences going to school there.  It’s been almost 10 years since we graduated!

When I got to campus, I couldn’t believe how much the school had changed since I’d gone to school there.  So many new buildings that I got lost finding my way to the familiar bookstore!

After over an hour of browsing around, trying on the different sweatshirt styles, laughing and joking that George Mason should hire us as their designers because every time we’d find a style we liked, it would be ruined by something that didn’t need to be there, and debating what to buy, I bought myself a beautiful gray sweatshirt and a green t-shirt.  (I realize that sentence is a mouthful, but decided to just go with it) 🙂

Showing my Mason pride.

By the time we were done we were starving, so we headed out to find something to eat and found a cute little Thai restaurant, where I ordered what I always get: pad thai.  No matter how many times I want to try something different off of any Thai restaurant’s menu, I always get the same thing.  What I do love about Thai dishes though is how easily so many of them are already vegan or can be made vegan.

After lunch we decided to walk around a little bit, window shop, and have some tea before heading home.

Of course the yoga bags sign caught my attention.  🙂

When I got home, there was a nice surprise waiting for me.

My mom had been out earlier in the day and bought me this sweater that she thought I’d like.

I also came home to find that my blood type test had arrived.  I’m on a healthy eating group on Facebook and we’d recently been talking about the Eat Right 4 Your Type Diet and how your blood type affects the foods that you should or shouldn’t eat.  From all the conversations and information that was posted, it sounded like I was a type A, but I wanted to do the test to confirm it.

Sure enough when I did the test, it showed that my blood type is A positive.  I loved that the test was able to show me immediate results without having to send anything off to a lab.  I’m kind of curious to get the book now and see what else it recommends, especially since I’m going through some health issues, but I do know that it states that my blood type fares better on vegetarian type diets.

For dinner I had black bean burgers and millet mashed “potatoes.”  Two of the easiest recipes I’ve ever come across, simple, delicious, and nutritious for you too!  I was amazed at how well the millet mashed up into “potatoes.”  I did make a few substitutions in the ingredients and made sure to add nutritional yeast to my “potatoes,” which give it a cheesy like quality.  It was so good, I could’ve eaten that alone for dinner!

My veggie burger crumbled right before I took this picture, but you get the idea.

Tomorrow I’ll be sleeping in, working out, meal planning, and seeing what else the day brings.  Hope you’re having an amazing weekend so far!

Leave a Reply

