Yoga Glow

I’ve been looking forward to today all week.  Diana and I had agreed to eat brunch at Le Pain Quotidien and I was extremely excited because they offer so many vegan options on their menu, which are also clearly marked as being vegan.  I first discovered Le Pain Quotidien when I lived in London.   It was founded in Belgium and I love its warm, cozy, friendly atmosphere.

Before I could go anywhere though, I had to squeeze in my TurboFire workout.  Today’s class is one of the best I’ve done so far and reminds me so much of Zumba, my other soulmate workout (besides yoga).  I tried to find a video to show you guys of what today’s class was about, but there weren’t any good ones.  I can’t tell you what a difference it makes to get my workout done in the morning.  I have more energy, I feel good, and it’s great to know that it’s done for the day so that my evenings are free to do whatever I want.

Now back to Le Pain Quotidien.  🙂

I usually don’t like to drink coffee because it depletes you of nutrients, but once in a while I will have coffee if I know where I’m getting it from is of good quality.  I always get decaf with soy milk or whatever plant based milk is available.

There were so many delicious options to choose from, but I ended up getting the Organic Riz au Lait, which was brown rice pudding made with agave and soy milk, and the Organic Tofu Scramble with soy cheese, tomatoes, and mushrooms.

Everything was so good!  Of course I avoided the bread this time, but the side salad was the perfect accompaniment to the tofu.

After chatting and eating at a leisurely pace, we decided to check out Whole Foods for some Pure Bars and Trader Joe’s for some tea.

Along with purchasing my beloved Pure Bars, I found a new type of LÄRABAR that I’ve never seen before.

Can’t wait to try it and see what it tastes like.

I also couldn’t help taking a picture of this sign in Whole Foods because it embodies my food philosophy so well (The CEO Of Whole Foods, John Mackey, is vegan BTW).  It’s also the philosophy we followed in the Whole Foods Healthy Eating Challenge that I recently completed.

I was also so happy to see my favorite tea available at Trader Joe’s.  The past few times I’ve gone to my local Trader Joe’s, they didn’t have the tea and I was afraid they’d discontinued it. I bought 3 boxes immediately, especially since each box was only $3.49!

When I got home from brunch, the planner I recently ordered from Amazon was in the mailbox.  I ordered it for a very specific reason, details of which will come probably in the next few weeks!  Very exciting though (well at least for me)!

Even though I had lots of things I wanted to do this afternoon, my body was literally craving yoga.  I didn’t feel like doing yoga at home and East Meets West doesn’t have classes on Saturday afternoon.  I have a LivingSocial deal that I bought several months ago for a yoga studio in DC that I absolutely love, but I didn’t feel like getting on the Metro and making the trek up there.  So the only option I had left was doing power vinyasa yoga in a 94 degree studio that’s about 7 minutes from my house.

I’d been to this studio last year, but I really have to be in the mood to do yoga in the heat in order to just go and do it.  Today, I actually got excited about being able to detox and sweat out toxins while going through an empowering yoga practice.  So armed with my yoga towel that I bought months ago and had never used, I headed to Dancing Mind Yoga.

Yes, I was sweating just as much as the people in that video, and the poses are held for much longer than the traditional vinyasa yoga I practice, but I felt so amazing afterwards!  I even had a yoga glow!

Katy and I are already planning on checking it out together next time.

For dinner I converted my lentil brown rice casserole that I made the other day into a soup/stew and added some fresh kale to it.

Have a great Saturday night!

Leave a Reply

