Medical Mystery: The Journey to Going Raw

For weeks now, my intuition has been pushing me to approach a raw vegan lifestyle as a means to help cure my body of the many ailments that it seems to be plagued with.  I’ve briefly mentioned things that are going on with me, but have never gone into too much detail. For all intents and purposes, I am a medical mystery, though I’m trying not to dwell too much on that fact.

As the Law of Attraction states, what you think about, you bring about, and the last thing I want to do is focus more attention on what’s going on with me.  Yet a part of me almost feels like it will be cathartic to just write it all out, so that’s my intention here tonight.

“Wow, do you feel totally amazing eating a vegan diet?”  is what most people say to me.  The answer should be yes, but unfortunately, my body doesn’t seem to recognize that I’m feeding it whole, purifying foods that should be healing me.  The entire reason that I went gluten-free, vegan was to see if I could heal myself.

What I consider to be my main symptom is my constant, plaguing headaches.  I live with a headache 24/7.  Some days they progress to severely intense and some days the throbbing is a little softer, but it’s always there.  I discovered thanks to the chiropractor that my neck curves the wrong way and it also appears that I have TMJ, but it seems that there are other factors at work.  At this point, I’ve learned to live with them, and I sometimes wonder if that’s part of the reason I’m not healing.  My body has resisted all forms of homeopathic treatment, including acupuncture.  Traditional medicine does not work.  I feel like someone bashed my skull in half the time.

On top of all that, my digestive system is severely messed up.  I wake up feeling like a truck drove over me in the middle of the night because I have no energy and can’t sleep well.  I feel a weird internal itching that’s not the same kind of itch as when you want to scratch yourself.  It seems that I get bloated no matter what I eat.  The scale won’t budge despite how little and clean I eat.  I get nauseated easily and my body doesn’t seem to know what a normal level of hunger is.  I have major brain fog.  And on top of all of that, I have PCOS.  I’m sure some of the symptoms stem from that, but surely not all.  I don’t know what it’s like to feel normal.

My ego is telling me that I shouldn’t bother going raw because if nothing else has helped, then what’s the point?  Yet a part of me is wondering if switching to 50% uncooked foods and 50% vegan cooked will help me just a little bit.  My passion is to help others achieve their health & fitness goals.  How can I do the same when I’m “unwell?”  That’s part of my mission in enrolling at Institute for Integrative Nutrition.  I feel like I can help heal myself by learning what will help others.  I also feel that half of it is affirming that I’m well, visualizing myself being well, and starting to truly FEEL it so that I become fully well.

My biggest hurdle right now is probably HOW to go raw.  You can tell people all you want about the benefits of going raw, but if you don’t tell them how to do it, then I think the point is kind of moot.  And I want to raw without the use of a dehydrator and with enough variety that I don’t get bored.

So those are my thoughts for tonight.  I think that I’m definitely going to start incorporating at least one raw meal a day to see how it goes.  Any tips will be much appreciated!

Comments

  1. No sure if you have checked out this site or not http://www.learnrawfood.com. The owner of the site also has a great book, Raw Food Made Easy, for doing the raw food diet for 1 or 2 people without the dehydrator. You can do it with a blender and food processor.

Leave a Reply

