Health Update

Hello my friends!  How have you been doing?  I’ve been enjoying the gorgeous 70 degree weather that we’ve been having around here lately and munching on yummy vegan snacks, like these yummy bars that I ordered from Two Moms in the Raw.  I can’t believe that it’s still technically winter!  I’m actually sitting outside right now, looking up at the clouds & the stars.

So I haven’t been blogging lately, but that’s partly because I’ve gotten consumed with reading The Hunger Games trilogy.  If you haven’t read it yet, RUN to your nearest bookstore.  I promise that you won’t regret it!  I tried to resist reading them, especially since I got caught up in both Harry Potter & Twilight fandom, but The Hunger Games are on par with Harry Potter in my book.  One thing’s for sure, I can’t wait for The Hunger Games movie to come out on March 23rd!

It’s also time for another health update.  This morning I went to the neurologist upon the recommendation of my chiropractor and because my MRI results showed nothing different than what my chiropractor had found out about me (I have something called subluxation in my neck that’s partially the cause of my pain).

I couldn’t believe it when he actually took the time to listen to me, hear what I’ve already been doing to help myself, and provided me with reasonable recommendations (unlike the GI doctor who wanted me to get a lactose intolerance test.  Really?!  I should’ve told her to look up vegan in the dictionary).

He explained that what I’ve been doing is great, and that he understands that I’ve wanted to avoid traditional medicine, but sometimes you need a little help in that way in order to get things going.  I told him that at this point, I’ll pretty much doing anything to get rid of the pain. I actually burst into tears last week because I was in so much pain & could hardly complete my workout and I haven’t worked out since!  😦

What I have are chronic daily headaches, which are a form of migraines.  The doctor first prescribed me some anti-inflammatory medication that they usually give to kids for poison ivy.  However, he said it should help alleviate the pain that I’m feeling, especially because it seems that my brain is firing off all these pain signals that I’m super sensitive to.  After I get through that dosage, which is only meant to last a week, he gave me a prescription for migraine medication that I’m supposed to take whenever I feel the onset of pain come on.  If there is no relief in my pain after the anti-inflammatory medication, he’ll guide me as to what to do next in terms of taking the migraine medicine, because you’re actually supposed to wait until you feel the onset of pain before taking it.  Since I’m in pain 24/7, I’m hoping the anti-inflammatory will finally give me relief!

He also asked me if I’ve ever been tested for Lyme disease.  I said no, but my chiropractor was suspecting that maybe I have it due to all my other medical symptoms and my nutritionist had as well.  So I have a form that authorizes me to get a blood test for Lyme if need be.

The fact that I might have Lyme doesn’t even freak me out.  At this point, all I want is for the pain to go away so that I can tackle my other symptoms (excessive tiredness, bloating, digestive issues, lack of energy, etc.)

I also feel that the fact that I’m starting classes at Institute for Integrative Nutrition will be a HUGE benefit or me.  I’m actually counting down for the start of classes on March 26!  Seriously, I never thought I’d say that in my life, but I’ve found my passion.  I can’t wait to combine health coaching with Beachbody.  The sky’s the limit, that’s for sure!

Comments

  1. Sending you healing thoughts every day, friend! I hope you find some peace so you can enjoy your workouts, and your day – headache free! Big hugs! XOXO

  2. Enjoy your workouts and enjoy your classes at IIN. You’ll do great!!
    So happy you found your passion, it feels great to be passionate about these things, I know because I am too 🙂 xoxo An-sofie

Leave a Reply

