Finding Your Passion

Happy Sunday everyone!  It’s been a gorgeous weekend where the sun has been shining and we’re enjoying the continuation of warm, gorgeous days.  I’m loving this early spring!  It’s times like these when I wished I lived in a climate like this year round.  I feel so much more motivated and lighter when the weather’s like this, don’t you?

Like I said in my last post, I’ve been really into The Hunger Games trilogy and it’s been consuming my life in the past week. I enjoyed the weather yesterday by going to get myself a soy iced chai and reading the book.  I stayed up until 1 am reading it and I’m so glad I did. It’s an amazing book series!  Can’t wait to go see The Hunger Games movie next week.

Lately I’ve been thinking a lot how thankful I am to have finally found my passion, especially when I see Facebook posts every Friday of people celebrating the end of the week.  Honestly though, if you spend your weeks waiting for Friday and the weekend to come, you’re wasting your life away.  Wouldn’t you rather love what you do so much that you don’t care what day of the week it is?

It’s taken me nearly 10 years to find my passion, from the time I graduated from college up until now.  In college, I knew I didn’t want to do anything corporate related, so I chose a major that I loved because it allowed me to read and write as much as I wanted – English.  I decided to combine it with a minor in Latin American Studies.  Everyone always asked me if I wanted to become an English teacher, but I’d just stare at them blankly.  Just because I was following what I loved to do didn’t mean that I had to be immediately associated with something that I had no desire of pursuing.  Yet I myself didn’t know exactly what I wanted to do.

I eventually ended up in London because I fell in love with that city the first time that I ever went there and I was offered an internship at a tourism company, which eventually turned into a full-time job.  I honestly initially thought that I wanted to do something in tourism. The company that I worked for in London was great, but I wasn’t passionate about it. Eventually I came back to the US and worked at a gluten-free publishing company.  Finally I could apply my English skills towards something fun!  Yet the job wasn’t fun & was more of a drag than anything.  That’s when I decided to look into working with kids, because I’d always loved them and they loved me.

I decided to pursue a Master’s in Elementary Education.  During the time I pursued my Master’s, I worked at a Montessori school as a Teacher’s Assistant.  That is one job that I definitely didn’t see like work.  I got to hang out with the kids all day, but my pay was relatively low, especially since I got paid hourly.  Now that I’m in the public school system, I honestly can’t say that I’m doing anything that I love, yet I’m thankful to have something to lean back on as I start up my own business.  Yes, I do love being with kids, and preschool age kids are my favorite.  I’d go work in a preschool now if I could get the same benefits & pay that I do in the public school system.  Yet the public school system itself reminds me too much of a corporate job in certain respects, and I can’t live the rest of my life working in something that my heart doesn’t believe in.

I’ve always been interested in eating well and nourishing the body with good nutrients, but it wasn’t until I dramatically changed my diet myself last summer as a result of my poor health issues that I discovered my true passion.  I spent hours upon hours poring over websites, books, & watching documentaries on health & eating a well-balanced diet (ok really most of it was about plant-based eating, but still – I learned about why veganism can be beneficial when at first I had serious doubts about such a “dramatic” diet).  People started asking me about what things they could eat to help improve their eating habits & what I’ve been doing to help myself.  I was inspired to start this blog.

I truly believe that the Universe will bring to you what’s in line with your highest desires at the perfect time.  It was back in December that I became friends with a girl on Facebook who introduced me to the Beachbody coaching opportunity.  I am in awe of this business & have learned that there are many other companies that work in a similar fashion, allowing you to create the life of your dreams, when all you have to do is share the products with others & inspire them to want to try them themselves.  Not to make money – the money comes as a result of it afterwards (because yes, you really do get paid for this & as you build up your business, your commissions get higher & higher until you can make a full-time living off of it). It’s really all about helping people.  Even our CEO, Carl Daikeler, will tell you that.  It’s stories like THIS that inspire me to want to push myself to achieve everything that I want to achieve with my Beachbody business.  What is Beachbody coaching exactly?  Watch this video & it’ll help to answer your questions.

About a month later, I found myself enrolling at Institute for Integrative Nutrition so that I could become a certified health coach.  IIN helps to teach me how to share what I’ve learned with others & actually get paid for it.  Sometimes I think, who am I to be able to counsel others when I have my own health issues?  But honestly, I think it’s BECAUSE I’ve suffered so much, that I’ll be better equipped to help others.  I’ll know how to take people to their goals because I’m doing it for myself & I want to help others achieve vibrant health & well-being, the way we were all meant to live.  The quote that inspired me to let go of the fears that my ego was pushing upon me was printed right in the IIN 2012 brochure.

So here I am, learning how to get paid to do things I already like to do.  Getting paid to work out.  Getting paid to drink Shakeology & eat healthy.  Getting paid to counsel others on following the best path to achieve optimal health & wellness.  And these are all these I’d do for free anyway.  It’s my passion in these areas that will allow me to be successful, because I believe in what I’m doing and I believe in myself.  Yes I still have my day job, but eventually, I will be living my passion full-time.

Ask yourself, what would I do if I could not be held back?  If I could achieve my dreams no matter what?  What do I love more than anything else in the world?  Then find a way to make your dreams into a reality.  I guarantee you, you will find a way.  Things will magically seem to fall into place.  And the path will seem clearer than ever before.  If you’re scared, that’s even more of a reason to push forward.  Your fears only highlight that you’re on the path to a great journey.  What would you do if you knew you were taken care of?  Meditate upon it, talk about it, write about, then MAKE IT HAPPEN!  The only person holding you back is yourself.  All you have to do is believe.

 

Leave a Reply

