Triple Vegan

It’s been several nights since I’ve blogged, but I’ve got some exciting news: I’m down 10 pounds on the Beachbody Ultimate Reset!  I was shocked when I stepped on the scale this morning and saw that!!!  Finally I broke through the plateau that I seemed to be on throughout Phase 2.  And the best part is that this is real, lasting weight loss.  I’m not depriving myself at all because I’m eating real food!

Here’s what I’ve been eating the past three days.

Friday

Same fruit salad for breakfast.  If there’s one thing I’m learning, it’s that there’s no way that I could subsist off of eating fresh fruit for breakfast every single day.  As delicious as it is, I need my Shakeology or oatmeal to keep me going.

Moroccan Carrot Salad for lunch

Roasted veggies.  This wasn’t on the meal plan, but my brother and his girlfriend came over Friday night and my mom grilled up a bunch of vegetables, so I decided to eat them instead of cooking something new.

Saturday

More fruit salad!

Spinach salad for lunch

Avocado cucumber soup with roasted veggies for dinner

Sunday

Double fruit breakfast!

Hearty vegetable miso soup with a side salad

Grilled tempeh over brown rice, with coconut collard greens & roasted beets.  Phase 3 actually excludes grains and they are supposed to be optional, but I was so hungry today, that I had to make it.

Enjoy the rest of your weekend!

Comments

  1. 10 pounds?? that’s awesome, how long have you been on this detox for? And can I have the recipe for the avocado cucumber soup

    • Today’s the 20th day. Tomorrow will be the last, day 21. When I weighed myself, it was Day 18. The best part is that it is real weight loss because I’m eating real food!

      The recipe for the Avocado Cucumber Soup:

      1 medium English cucumber, peeled & roughly chopped
      1 large ripe avocado, cut in half, pit removed, flesh scooped out
      4 tsp chopped fresh cilantro (plus extra for garnish)
      4 tsp lime juice
      1/4 tsp Himalayan salt
      1/4 small jalapeno, cut in quarters, seeded, and diced (optional)
      3/4 cup water (or more if needed)
      Bragg Liquid Aminos (to taste)

      Place all ingredients in blender and blend until smooth and creamy, adding more water if desired to thin soup. Pour into large bowl. Chill before serving if desired.

      I omitted the Bragg’s because it bloats me out and didn’t add any jalapeno either.

  2. Tanisha M says:

    Your food is so yuuuuuummmmy. Love the photos… You are doing Great!!! Congrats on 10lbs lost.

  3. Courtney Cockerham says:

    The avocado cucumber soup was so good! Congrats on your weight loss 🙂 do you have a reciepe for the miso soup? I really think my husband would enjoy that one!

    • Thank you! I’m glad that you enjoyed the Avocado Cucumber Soup! Yes I do have a recipe for the miso soup! Actually there are two, one for the Hearty Vegetable Miso Soup and one for Regular Miso Soup. I’ll put them both here for you 🙂

      Hearty Vegetable Miso Soup

      Ingredients
      1 tsp. extra-virgin olive oil or safflower oil
      2 Tbsp. finely chopped yellow onion
      1 tsp. finely chopped garlic
      1 small carrot, cut in thin diagonal slices
      1 small celery stalk, cut in thin diagonal slices
      ½ tsp. peeled and finely grated ginger
      2 cups water
      ¼ cup broccoli florets
      2 Tbsp. chopped fresh green beans
      ¼ cup shredded Napa cabbage or bok choy
      1 Tbsp. wakame seaweed
      ½ tsp. toasted sesame oil
      1 Tbsp. sliced green onion
      1 Tbsp. miso mixed with 2 Tbsp. hot water (add more miso, to taste)

      Directions
      Heat oil in soup pot on medium heat. Add onion, garlic, ginger, carrot, and celery and sauté for 5 minutes until fragrant. Add water and simmer on low for 20 minutes until veggies are tender. Add broccoli, beans, cabbage, and seaweed. Stir and simmer until tender but not overcooked; broccoli and beans should remain crisp. Remove from heat and add sesame oil, green onion, and miso mixture. Serves 1.

      Miso Soup

      Ingredients
      2 cups + 2 to 3 Tbsp. water
      2 Tbsp. dried wakame seaweed
      1 green onion, sliced thinly
      1 Tbsp. miso paste (any variety, but make sure it contains no MSG)

      Directions
      Bring 2 cups water to a boil, then remove from heat. In small dish, mix miso paste with remaining water to make a thin paste. Add to boiled water. Stir in seaweed and green onion. Let sit for a few moments, stir, and serve hot. (Never boil miso.) Serves 1.

Leave a Reply

