Fibromyalgia meets PCOS

Imagine having pain all over your body 24/7, with no relief in site.  It’ll come and go in waves, but it’s always there.  For a while, the best I could describe it is that it felt like I could always use a massage through my shoulders and back, but I didn’t think much else of it.  Oh yeah, and then there are the chronic daily headaches that I live with on a daily basis and that I’ve talked about before.

As I’ve gotten more involved with going to the chiropractor regularly and been more involved with researching my symptoms, I’ve been hearing more and more about fibromyalgia.  My chiropractor even briefly mentioned to me a few weeks ago that he thought I might have fibromyalgia, but I still had no idea what it meant.  I finally did my own research thanks for Fibromyalgia Awareness Day and thanks to the guidance of a few other Beachbody coaches that also have it, and I couldn’t believe that I felt like I was reading about myself.

So today I finally talked to my chiropractor about it.  My Beachbody coach friends told me to ask him about a functional medicine doctor.  Somehow, it went over my head that he also practices functional medicine.  He’s actually been suspecting for a long time that fibromyalgia has been my problem, but since it’s hard to diagnose and there’s no specific test for it, other autoimmune diseases must first be ruled out of the picture.  Since I’ve tried pretty much everything and ruled out a lot of things (including Lyme!), he finally conducted the official diagnosis by assessing the fibromyalgia trigger points, which was most definitely painful!

I’m actually happy that I finally have an answer.  And it’s no wonder that nothing is really working and I feel the way that I feel.  Having PCOS AND fibromyalgia is quite a concoction in my body, to say the least.  I know that the healthy lifestyle changes that I’ve made are definitely helping.  Exercise is definitely helping.  Even if I don’t immediately feel it, I know that the pain could be a lot worse.  And every single day I’m thankful for my illness (illnesses? dis-eases?), because if it weren’t for what I have, I would never have discovered my true passion.

Now, onto the food I had today!  Shakeology was for breakfast, as usual.  I actually stopped taking pictures of the Shakeology because they’re always the same, yummy and good!  But I do have an awesome picture that was shared by another coach on Facebook related to Shakeology!

Lunch was a yummy microgreen salad

With some fresh fruit

I did have a chocolate Shakeology as a snack before doing my ChaLEAN Extreme (gotta stay in shape, despite the pain!)  I used to use the pain and being chronically tired as an excuse, but after another coach told me that she doesn’t let fibromyalgia win, I decided to adopt the same attitude, and I haven’t missed a single workout since!  🙂

I was super tired today too, because I didn’t sleep well last night.  On days like these, I don’t feel like cooking.  Instead of being lazy about it though, I threw some millet into the rice cooker, chopped up some zucchini, onion, asparagus, and some carrots, and dinner was ready in less than 15 minutes.  Quick, simple, easy, and delicious!

And now I’m headed to bed because my pain levels are high and I need some sleep!!!

Comments

  1. I’m another sufferer of both fibromylgia and PCOS; it’s nice to see I’m not alone.

    • Thank you for sharing! Do you treat yours naturally? I’ve known about the PCOS for about 10 years now, but the fibromyalgia has definitely only hit me in the past 2 years or so. It’s nice to finally have an answer!

  2. I’m in a similar situation! I’ve known about the PCOS since I was fourteen, but the fibromyalgia has only been diagnosed in the past five years or so (2006, I think, maybe… it all runs together!) and I agree; it’s nice to have answer for all the pain.

    I don’t treat mine naturally… I don’t treat the PCOS at all now really. I’m on the pill, which deals with the worst symptoms, and I went veggie a couple of years ago and that seems to have sorted my skin and excess hair out a lot. It still bothers me from time to time, and I still get pain, but it’s manageable.

    I’m on medication for the fibro. I’ve tried going the natural route, and it didn’t work for me… although that’s not to say it won’t work for others 🙂

    • I used to be on the pill for PCOS and Metformin, but I felt like they both messed me up more, so I took myself off of them. Now my periods are regular and I hardly have any acne. I’d say my biggest struggle with PCOS is my weight. Even though I don’t have that much more to lose (about 10 to 15 pounds), I still have belly fat. I’m always wondering why I have any when I don’t eat anything that constitutes it being there, lol!

      I am taking medicine for my chronic daily headaches because nothing else was working and I was getting fed up, but that’s not working either. Going to keep trying things to see what works out! Good luck! 🙂

  3. Hi! I am a BB coach and also recently found out I have Fibromyalgia and I have pcos since high school days ugh! We should chat on fb sometime for support :)! Love Chalean extreme it has helped me so much!

    • Hi! Yes let’s definitely connect on Facebook! You can find me by searching for jennifer61982 AT yahoo DOT com. Are you going to Summit? Thanks for reaching out! I love being a coach and ChaLEAN Extreme is awesome! I need to go out and buy heavier weights tonight because 5 pounds is definitely not enough! 🙂

  4. I am one year sufferer of PCOS and am involved in beach body. I am also interested in taking steps for raw veganism. I’m so lost at where to start.

    • Molly, have you tried the Beachbody Ultimate Reset? It’s not raw, but it’s definitely very helpful for helping on the path towards healthier eating! I feel that for me personally, I cannot sustain myself eating raw. You might want to look up Cleanse America. They advocate a raw diet and have amazing recipes that don’t require a dehydrator, but I like to have a mix of raw and cooked food.

  5. I am very interested in chatting with you ladies. I was diagnosed with PCOS about a year ago, after several doctors told me I just had high levels of stress. I have always had a high tolerance for pain and stress, yet have constantly had migrains, been hypersensitive to external stimuli, and never can sleep more than 4 hours at a time. I’m constantly stiff and sore through out my body lately and after learning alot about Fibromyalgia from my aunt that has it, I’m thinking that may be what I have. I’ve lost 60 lbs after changing my diet and excersize habits, but I’m still always stiff, sore, and tired, What is Beachbody???

    • Stephany, I totally understand how you feel! Beachbody is a company that makes exercise products like P90X, Insanity, and Shakeology, but for right now, my holistic doctor wants me to just focus on things like walking. If you’d like to chat more, please email me at jennifer AT luminouswellnesswithjennifer DOT com. I promise I won’t take as long to respond! I don’t keep up with this blog anymore, but I’d love to be able to help you! 🙂

  6. Shelly Marie says:

    I’m a TBB coach, and I have PCOS, and Fibromyalgia. This is the first I’ve heard of others with the same combo. I treat my issues naturally, I finally finished my first program from start to finish. I’ve started losing fat, and weight again. I’ve had some flare-ups, but I determined to not let Fibro stop me from reaching my goals. I have a blog as well that is centered around my experiences with Focus T25. Check it out. http://www.joinshellymarie.com

  7. I am so glad I found your blog. A friend actually shared it with me. I also struggle with Fibromyalgia as well as a few other things. I also am a Beachbody coach. I know Shakeology makes a huge difference in how I feel daily. I am now following you on FB. glad to find someone who understands.

Leave a Reply

