Getting Back on Track

I’m not quite sure how to begin this blog post.  I can’t believe it’s been a month since I was in Vegas, learning from the best coaches and corporate team at Beachbody about how to grow my business.  I got to meet Shaun T…

Attended amazing training workshops…

Over 5,000 coaches!!!

and solidified my commitment to continue to help as many people as possible by helping to End the Trend of Obesity in the United States.I also celebrated my 30th birthday with my friends & family with some gluten-free vegan Z Pizza and an awesome gluten-free vegan cake from CakeLove.

Yet despite my commitment to help End the Trend by helping others, I let myself slip with my eating habits.  Ok, so I haven’t really been eating THAT bad — I still don’t eat junk or anything processed.  I lost weight in Vegas, but coming back, I wasn’t mindful of planning my meals, and would start eating bananas or whatever else was around.  Now a banana here or there is ok, but eating too much of anything will cause you to gain weight, no matter what. And we all know that having PCOS causes you to gain weight in the flash of an instant if you’re not careful.

The result?!  I gained back at least 7 pounds of the weight that I lost on the Beachbody Ultimate Reset.  Not good!  Now I feel like I have to work 3 times as hard to get it back down again (of course, not uncommon with PCOS).

I really think I was ashamed to admit that I’d gained weight.  Afraid to admit that I allowed myself to slip up and that I wasn’t being as perfect with my eating as I sometimes appear to be, as if I’m being a hypocrite.  Yet I’m admitting this to show that we can’t all be perfect all the time.  We all slip up, but the most important thing to remember is that we can always get back on track.

I’ve been working out consistently with my Beachbody workouts (even doing a little Brazil Butt Lift, so much fun!!!), and it actually looks like I’ve lost several inches, so you can’t tell that I’ve gained weight.  I’m determined to get back to where I was and then some.  I refuse to allow PCOS and fibromyalgia win.  I am more than just my body, but my body is also what allows me to enjoy everything that life has to offer, and I’m going to do what it takes to be an example for myself and for other women that PCOS can be successfully managed through proper diet and exercise.  We’ve got this!

Comments

  1. Tanisha M says:

    Hi, great post and happy to see your honesty here. I agree with you, we are not perfect, and we all slip up. Unfortunately, as you said PCOS is not forgiving, I know that all too well. I have gained 5lbs in one day that is how it goes with PCOS, it is so hard. Like you, I used to help others and failed because I allowed a negative situation that happened in my life be used as an excuse to eat and now I am gained so much weight I am so ashamed and struggling to get back on track like I want to. I was on track for a while and then life happened. The biggest lesson I learned is that we can never just give up and start eating crazy as we’ll gain it all back and if we go off one day just get back on. Now I just need to get back on and remember to keep getting back on track when I get off. I was just telling my husband how I am ready to work on eating better consistently but still struggle with the idea of not being able to eat out. Eating out was a huge part of our relationship. He is OK with us not eating out but I get freaked out by the restriction. I am so happy that you posted how you were doing, it sounds like you are getting back on track and doing well. We are not perfect and we all fall down. The most important piece is getting back up, right away.

    • Thank you so much for sharing your story, Tanisha! I really appreciate it. Don’t see yourself as having failed in helping others. You WILL get where you want to be and just by being yourself and getting yourself back on track, you are demonstrating that it can be done. True failure is just giving up and not even trying anymore. I know how hard it is with PCOS, because it feels like you try and try and seem to get nowhere, but whenever I feel like that, I remind myself that I’m taking care of my body and that even if it doesn’t show on the outside, at least my insides are healthier and better off because I’m nourishing it with the right foods. I still eat out, but choose places where I know will have healthier options and that can accommodate to how I eat. If you need extra support and motivation, I’m here for you! 🙂

      Jennifer

  2. jilliansmckee@gmail.com says:

    Hi,

    I have a quick question about your blog, do you think you could e-mail me?

    Jillian

Leave a Reply

