Protein for PCOS

So I’ve been thinking a lot lately about plant based ways to incorporate more protein into my diet.  Before I get any further, we all know that the number one question that vegans get asked is where they get their protein from.

I do honestly believe that vegans get more than enough protein from adequate plant based sources. Just look at the picture above and you’ll see that the gorilla has no problems getting his protein. Nor does the elephant or the ox (ever heard of the expression “strong as an ox?”) The truth is, the human body does not require as much protein as we have been led to believe. Did you know that there’s an actual term for protein deficiency called kwashiorkor?  If people are so worried about being protein deficient, then how come they’ve never heard of this term before?  It’s almost like people get into a panic about not getting enough protein, but it never becomes a concern until you become vegan.

Isn’t this the truth?!

However, having said all that, I’m wondering if for myself, I’m taking in adequate protein, especially since I have PCOS.  I wasn’t even that concerned until I had a talk with my health coach through the Institute for Integrative Nutrition the other night and she kept asking me about my protein.  The next day she sent me this article about signs of protein deficiency, and I seem to fall under a whole lot of them.  I do have PCOS and fibromyalgia though, so I’m sure that has something to do with it.  And I refuse to follow the article’s recommendation of adding a little red meat into each meal.

For now, I want to experiment with maybe hemp powder or another form of protein powder in addition to my Shakeology, and also see if I can try to get in more of a variety in my diet. I’m looking to two of my favorite authors, Kimberly Snyder and Kris Carr, to help me on my journey.

Since I’m getting amazing results doing the ChaLEAN Extreme and Brazil Butt Lift Hybrid, it’s time I really kick it into gear with super natural, clean plant based sources.  I can’t wait to see what my body will look like with the combination of the two and with modifying my protein intake.

If you have PCOS, how do you feel about your protein intake?  Do you feel you’re getting enough, especially if you’re vegan?  I’d love to hear your thoughts!

Comments

  1. Eve Kettelle says:

    Coconut water is great because not only it provides you with a tasty juice, it is also rich in vitamins and minerals. .,”;:

    Yours trully http://www.foodsupplementdigest.com“>

  2. Hey my names rebecca, and i was wondering what source of proteins i should be consuming ! i love your meals, they look so fascinating but im the type which can’t be bothered to put so many diffrerent ingredients in !! im more of a plain eater ! im a pescaterian, however i don’t eat canned tuna as much as i used too due to being on the “MEtformin” medicine for PCOS women with high insulin. YEs i am on a diet, but im finding it really hard to maintain this diet AND be pescaterian as when i go to the retaurants its hard for me to choose something ! i need your helpppp, please give me advice on the proteins i should be eating. Besides meat and chicken of course 😦

  3. Hi Rebecca! You can try vegan protein powders, beans, lentils, green leafy vegetables, broccoli, nuts, nut butters, all natural protein bars (I mentioned some in my blog post today), tempeh…the possibilities are endless! 🙂 I’m actually pretty lazy when it comes to putting together meals too and don’t like using tons of ingredients. You might want to check out The Happy Herbivore. She creates weekly meal plans that you can download for $5 and her recipes are super simple and quick. When you go to restaurants, just see if you can pick and choose from items on the menu and from side dishes. That’s what I do when I see that there isn’t anything on the menu that’s entirely for me. I’ll also be starting my health coaching practice in September and have an introductory price, so if you need more help and guidance, that’s something I could help you with as well! 🙂

    • rebecca sakr says:

      Ohhhhh thankyou so much !!!! seriously a massive help for me 🙂 Dad was persuading me to eat meat again because im not gaining any vitamins but i don’t want too eat it just because of the vitamins in it !!! Great help seriously 🙂 Btw, with the vegan protein powder, could i buy that from “vitamin king” shops and stuff? and hows it good for the body? my brothers tak protein powders to put weight on, will this do this to me? im trying to lose weight remember 😀
      Yours truly, rebecca x

      • You’re welcome! Actually the meat, such as cows, are raised (or should be raised) on grass. Where do you think THEY get their protein from?! 🙂 That’s what that gorilla cartoon in this post is referring to. Trust me, you’re getting all the essential vitamins that you need from a plant based diet! Those fruits & vegetables are chock full of amazing nutrients. The only vitamin you may be missing out on B12, and that’s a bacteria that the animals eat that gets absorbed into their system, which then humans get from eating their flesh. But that’s about it.

        As for the protein powder, I’ve tried Sun Warrior and I also use Shakeology regularly. There’s also a brown rice protein powder that I just ordered from a company called Growing Naturals. If you’re worried about your protein intake, you could use these to supplement your meals. So this morning I used some in a little bit of almond milk Greek yogurt, which also has a lot of protein! I also use them to make shakes with fruit and they will help to keep you full for longer. My goal is also to lose weight, so I don’t use a ton, just enough that will keep me satisfied. I hope this helps!

        Jennifer 🙂

      • rebecca sakr says:

        Thanks so much for the help 🙂 your more then right above animals consuming foods !!! ill try the australian stores instead such as “vitamin king” they should be good 🙂 thankyou so much Jennifer, loads of help 🙂

      • You’re welcome! I really hope that you find what you’re looking for 🙂

  4. Hi,
    Can I ask where I can buy turbo fire and how much it cost?

    • Hi! You can buy TurboFire through me! If you’re interested, send me an email at veganpcosgoddess AT gmail.com There are different packages available, so if you email me, I can guide you through the prices 🙂

Leave a Reply

